You are here: Home About the GES Policy Council

Policy Council

The Global Economic Symposium’s Policy Council advises GES Executive President on its long-term strategic development. Its members are distinguished public figures, who have been associated with GES in the past, support the GES mission and vision, and offer guidance.

Members of the Policy Council may suggest issue clusters and themes, attract high-profile participants, and/or help identify potential financial sponsors and other institutional partners. Members of the Policy Council provide strategic advice to the GES Executive President, engage in advocacy of policy proposals emerging from the GES, and bring potential cooperation partners in academia, policy making, business and the media to the attention of the Executive President.



Olivier J. Blanchard Economic Counsellor and Director, Research Department, International Monetary Fund; Professor of Economics, MIT Economics, USA
Richard R. Ernst Nobel Laureate; Emeritus Professor at the Departement Chemistry and Applied Biosciences,Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich, Switzerland
Martin Feldstein Georg F. Baker Professor of Economics, Harvard University, USA
Rajendra Pachauri Nobel Laureate; Chairman, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, Switzerland
Kenneth S. Rogoff Professor of Public Policy and Professor of Economics, Harvard University, USA
David G. Victor Professor at the School of International Relations and Pacific Studies, University of California, USA
Ignazio Visco Governor, Central Bank of Italy
Yu Yongding Senior Fellow, Institute of World Economics and Politics, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, China

Policy- and Decision-Makers

Montek Singh Ahluwalia Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission, Government of India
Joaquin Almunia Vice-President and Commissioner for Competition, European Commission, Belgium
Mohamed El Baradei Nobel Laureate; Former Director General, International Atomic Energy Agency, Austria
Klaus Regling Managing Director, European Stability Mechanism, Luxembourg
Sheikha Lubna Al Qasimi Minister of Development and International Cooperation, United Arab Emirates


Leaders of International and Non-Governmental Organizations

Erkki Liikanen 
Governor, Bank of Finland
Supachai Panitchpakdi Former Secretary-General, UN Conference on Trade and Development
Raghuram G. Rajan Governor, Reserve Bank of India


Axel Weber President of the Board of Directors, UBS AG, Switzerland